Utter Autism

September 16, 2011

More SCD Cooking

Filed under: Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) — Carol @ 9:51 pm

Managed to churn out a few more recipes this week that were well received.

French Toast Sticks – I used the flatbread I made a few days ago.  It was sliced in half to make it very thin and cut it into rectangular strips.   Then I dipped it into a mixture of egg, coconut milk, vanilla,  honey and cinnamon.  My first try I used proportions typical for regular french toast.  This bread is much heavier though so I found I needed to increase the amount of honey and cinnamon to balance that out.  The end result was sufficiently sweet and tasty such that it did not require syrup… which is good since he can’t have it anyway.  I did melt a little butter for dipping on the side though 😉

Cheddar Crackers – After making the pizza crust this past week, it dawned on me that it was very cracker-ish.   So tweaked it for cheddar crackers.  SO yum!

2 cups almond flour

2 eggs

pinch of garlic powder

pinch of salt

1/2 cup – 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

2-3 tsp. olive oil

Roll ’em out in batches.  Make them very thin between pieces of parchment, peel away the top parchment, cut into individual crackers with a pizza cutter and bake them up in a 400* oven.  The middle ones tend to be less crisp.  I liked them that way but you could make them all crispy like the edge ones by simply shifting the positions part way through baking.

Strawberry Cake – This diet can be expensive!  So whenever I flub or find a recipe is a flop, I always try to find a way to use what I’ve got to make something better.  Such was the case with strawberry fluff.  The kids all hated it.  Faced with a bunch of strawberry fluff, I decided to toss it in our favorite cake batter:

6 eggs
1 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup coconut flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp sea salt

plus the strawberry fluff, defrosted, of course.

My husband thought it was the best cake yet.  And surprisingly, it didn’t taste much like strawberry at all.

2 Comments »

  1. […] pan works perfectly for me. I shared this recipe before.  It’s the one we use to make yummy french toast sticks.        Cinnamon Bun Muffins (found […]

    Pingback by Coconut Flour Recipes « Utter Autism — October 19, 2011 @ 3:45 pm

  2. […] pan works perfectly for me. I shared this recipe before.  It’s the one we use to make yummy french toast sticks.        Cinnamon Bun Muffins (found […]

    Pingback by Coconut Flour Recipes « Utter Autism — October 19, 2011 @ 3:45 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

