Utter Autism

September 10, 2011

SCD: Today’s Baking

In the time it took my husband to prepare yummy pasta and shrimp in a lovely cream sauce for the rest of the family, I did my baking for Adrian’s SCD.  I made….

1.Peanut Butter Brownies (I double the recipe so I can use the whole 16 oz jar of peanut butter at once.  It bakes up perfect in my 9X9 silicone pan.)

2.Ginger Cookies (you can probably guess we didn’t roll and cut them out cause, yeah, I’m too lazy LOL)

3. Lemon cake  

6 eggs
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup plain yogurt
3/4 cup coconut flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp lemon extract
1/2 tsp sea salt

The recipe I derived this from is found here and is for orange cake.  We made it as orange cake a few times and it was good.  I was curious what it would taste like if I substituted lemon for the orange.  Answer?  Super yummy cake that everyone loves.  We tried that marshmallow frosting a couple of times and found it was too sweet for our tastes no matter how little honey we added.  The cake is better all on it’s own.

4. Flatbread

WET INGREDIENTS:
12 eggs
¾ C oil
¼ C coconut milk
1t lemon juice

DRY INGREDIENTS:
1 C coconut flour
1 C almond flour
1 t baking soda
1 t salt

I found this recipe here but it looks like the webpage has expired so I’m recording the recipe here in case it suddenly disappears.

That was my baking for the day.  We had the lemon cake for dessert.  Everything else was sliced and stocked in the freezer.  One more baking session tomorrow should leave me in good shape to start the week.

Meanwhile, we’ve gone 3 days now with no ’emergency’ behavior meds.  He’s been calm and happy. Even the doctor noticed the difference when Adrian was there for a checkup last week. I’m usually doing an octopus impression while speaking to the doctor, getting pinched and pushed all the while.  This time Adrian waited calmly for 30 minutes in a packed waiting room (not the norm for this doc but they all have bad days I guess) and then sat quietly while I spoke with the doctor.

Over the course of the summer, the teacher was happy if they could keep the aggressive behaviors to less than 4 per day.  It didn’t usually happen.  Adrian’s already had 3 days of school without any aggressive behaviors. 

The difference is huge.  So much so that my husband and I are just sorta waiting for something bad to happen.  To think that it can stay this good would be a dream come true.  As my husband puts it, we’re cautiously optimistic.  We don’t want to risk disappointment if the spell is somehow broken here at one point.

But that doesn’t mean I’m not going to enjoy every minute.  🙂

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

