Utter Autism

September 5, 2011

Diet Update

We’ve been doing the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) with Adrian now for 3 weeks now. 

It’s been the best 3 weeks in … well, a very long time.   These behavioral problems with Adrian stem back a good year and a half, if not more.  I’ve spent the better part of those 18 months feeling very stressed and helpless.  Not much of what we tried really helped much. 

I think it’s working. 

It feels better and, as I said before, that’s really the only thing I can base my opinion on.  No matter how subjective it may be.

Within that first week we had far fewer outbursts.  He was calmer.  We were able to get into a daily rhythm that was productive and satisfying for us both. 

This diet does not remove his OCD behaviors.  But it did significantly help the OCD over food.  That makes me wonder if it never was OCD but actual hunger brought on by the overabundance of sugar and carbohydrates in his diet.  Duh!  That alone makes this diet worth continuing.  That was a HUGE point of frustration in my life.  Gone.

We’ve had a few opportunities at this point to gain further evidence that there is a true reaction to starches and sugars.  The first did not come from food at all.  Adrian ate the sheet rock from a hole he made in his wall. The next day was horrible. 

I didn’t make the connection at first but his behavior was so different from what it had been that I kept thinking on what might have made the difference.  A quick search on the internet brought to light that sheet rock has starch in it!  I filed that in the ‘sounds strange but maybe possible’ explanations.

The next bad spell was this past weekend.  Adrian was terribly, terribly out of control Saturday and Sunday.  He was full on punching me, pinching and also attacking my husband. He destroyed cardboard that’s hung on the walls, untouched,  for weeks now.   It was abosultely devistating and very, very scary.  And that was after tripling the medication we’d had been using while on the diet!

The behavior started Saturday around 11am.  We’d already made the decision to get pizza, a big diet no-no, on Sunday.  First, because it’s the one food I haven’t been able to reproduce to his standard and he misses it.   We also wanted to do a ‘test’ before we send him back to school on Wednesday to see if there was a reaction.  We got our answer.  Heck, yeah, there is!

But that still didn’t explain why he was also nuts on Saturday.  I racked my brain and finally realized this afternoon that we gave him bacon on Saturday morning!  It’s supposedly legal on SCD in small amounts on rare occasions.  But I bought the wrong kind.  It was higher in sugar than it should have been.   I figured it couldn’t matter that much.  I was soooo wrong.

That means that every bad episode we’ve had in the past 3 weeks can be accounted for by his consumption of something not legal on the diet.  Sceptics will have to bear with me.  Come live my life for a bit and then you’re welcome to tell me I’m dead wrong.

Today we went back to the strict diet and, over the course of the day, Adrian returned to his calm SCD self.  It was strange to watch.  He tried to speak again – something he’s been doing a lot of on this diet.  He wrote and typed out a couple of messages for me.  Peace slowly returned.

Numerous times this evening we hugged and I told him how glad I was that he was feeling better.  This diet doesn’t fix everything but it absolutely IS the light at the end of the tunnel.  It’s making life livable again.  Praise the Lord!

1 Comment »

  1. Yeah! So glad to hear it is working. I hope and pray it gets better and better as his body heals and adjusts. I’ve noticed on my GF diet that I definitely have worse reactions to gluten now if I have it after not having it for so long. I know it is so great to be able to trace a bad reaction back to a source rather than feeling helpless; I’m sure that’s doubly true in your case. Yeah Adrian!

    Comment by holysonnet14 — September 6, 2011 @ 7:37 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

