Utter Autism

November 19, 2007

Music Page

music

 This is Adrian’s new page for music class.  It took me a good week contemplating all the vocabulary that the music teacher wanted him to have available.  Each of the buttons here opens a box in the center where he can choose from attributes like small or big, red or orange, circle or square, on or under, fast or slow, two or four, loud or quiet.  I tried to include words like ‘a’, ‘the’, ‘I want’, and ‘play’ so he can form complete sentences like “I want to play the big, red drum” or “I want two blue shakers.”

When I’d finished the page, I realized that having these attributes all together might be helpful in other areas as well.  For instance, while playing with the blocks he could ask for “Three small, red blocks” While playing with the doll house he could direct a play partner to “Put the small doll on the bed in the house”   It would allow him to communicate during play in a way that he’s never been able to. 

I’m going to start on the page while I wait for the teacher to give me a list of toys and activities to include.  Back to programming!

1 Comment »

  1. Good for you [newbie visiting from fxsmom] I can completely relate to trying to figure out all the bits and pieces you need. [I always forget something and then have to go back and regroup] Glad all that effort will be applicable to other areas too.
    Best wishes

    Comment by mcewen — November 23, 2007 @ 1:50 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

