Utter Autism

November 8, 2007

He Lit Up My Life

We go through stages with Adrian’s obsessions and compulsions.  For a while it was lights.  He either wanted them on or off and simply could not accept that they be otherwise.  It’s been a while since we’ve fought that battle so I was surprised this morning when he insisted that all the lights be off.

He turned them off. I turned them on and told him we needed them.  He turned them off again.  I turned them on and he started to get upset with me.  After a few go-arounds and an obvious increase in his frustration level (and the pinching that goes with it), I brought his device to the kitchen table.

I went into a screen that had options to say “Turn the lights on.” and “Turn the lights off.”  I pushed each to make sure he understood the function of each and then asked him which he wanted. 

He immediately went from being frustrated and upset with me to laughing and giggling.  As if the emotional aboutface wasn’t enough to surprise me, he then pushed the button for “Turn the lights on.” and, while continuing to laugh, went to turn all the lights on for me.  

I continue to be amazed at just how powerful communication is. 

1 Comment »

  1. That’s wonderful. We’ve had very similar experiences, but I’m not as good an interpreter.
    BEst wishes

    Comment by mcewen — November 8, 2007 @ 10:57 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

