Utter Autism

October 16, 2007

Look At Me

I’ve been adding small things here and there to Adrian’s device including a number key pad and a lunch room page.  But I think the most important changes have been to a page called ‘My Phrases’.   I’ve racked my brain trying to think of all the things Adrian might say at school to express his feelings to the staff.  With his pinching behaviors being the central focus of some members of his team, it’s important that we get Adrian to express himself in different ways as soon as possible.

I’ve programmed buttons to say positive things like

  • yes
  • ok
  • me too
  • one more time 

He can express negative ideas with phrases like

  • I don’t like it
  • I don’t know
  • no more
  • I’m finished
  • Later

He can ask for help, say it’s too loud, say that he needs a break or that he needs his headphones.  I also included

  • Be quiet!
  • I don’t want to do any more
  • Stop!
  • Leave me alone

But showing him all the options available to him, his favorite button was the one that says, “Look at me!”   He just pressed it over and over and then joyfully stared at me staring at him. Who doesn’t love being the center of attention?

2 Comments »

  1. That is too cute =)

    Comment by holysonnet14 — October 23, 2007 @ 9:07 am

  2. Does “pinching behavior” mean he pinches people? Usually, when the word “behavior” is attached, the action is negative.

    Comment by Eliza — July 7, 2008 @ 5:01 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

