Utter Autism

September 27, 2007

After a Long Pause…

Filed under: Autism, Parenting Autistic Children, school — Carol @ 4:37 pm

I’ve been very quiet here.  I’ve had a lot on my mind lately as far as Adrian is concerned.   We’re a few weeks into school now.  The teacher and the classroom aide I’ve gotten to know are nice.  Adrian hasn’t given me much trouble about going in to school.  So I guess you could say things are going well.

Except I’ve had this uneasy feeling about his classroom assignment.   I was disappointed and even a little concerned to see that none of the children Adrian spent the last two years developing a relationship with are in his class this year.  His classmates are very different from last year’s group. Only one of the 8 other children in the room is verbal.  That makes it much harder for him to connect with them.

I don’t really know anything about his classmates.  I’ve only just observed a few minutes here and there while picking up and dropping off.  I guess that’s why I’ve hesitated to say anything to the school staff about how I was feeling.  It amounts to little more than a gut feeling, formed without the benefit of the facts.

 I was grateful this morning when the social worker made a request that I attend a team meeting next week.  I’m anxious to find out more about how these new teachers and therapists see Adrian, how he’s relating to his classmates and how his classmates are relating to him.  I told the social worker of my concerns and I feel better knowing that by this time next week they’ll be addressed and hopefully, put to rest.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

