Utter Autism

June 3, 2007

Ready to talk!

For the most part, the Dynavox V is up and running now.  Adrian has been exploring various pages here and there while I’ve been setting it all up.

For the most part, it’s all familiar to him.  After reviewing many of the pages available, I decided that we’d stick with my original design and organization.  I’ve added some extra pages here and there and used some vocabulary and pictures suggested in the pre-programmed pages. 

I’m anxious to see what the speech therapist will say when she sees it.  Unfortunately, I’m not sure when that will be.  We hit a deer with the car last Thursday and we’re still not sure when it will be fixed.  I don’t mind keeping Adrian home for a few days, but if the repairs take much longer than that, we’ll have to rent a vehicle.

Meanwhile, that means I’ve got time to continue to tweak the device and get Adrian back in the habit of using it.  Not surprising, I think he often forgets it’s there.  After all, when you go 10 years without a means of ‘talking’, you don’t automatically think about the fact that now you do! 

2 Comments »

  1. Just wanted to say hi. Sounds exciting that you got the V. I am curious about how you merged to the DV software. Also, I am studying the new visual displays and would love to hear what you think. I hope you and your son enjoy the new device!

    Comment by alltogether — June 5, 2007 @ 8:38 pm

  2. Hi.
    Boardmaker is now part of the Dynavox company so the series 5 software is set up to translate files from Boardmaker 5.0+ Of course, doing so produces some bugs like the ones I experienced. Still, for someone like me, it’s great not to have to start from scratch.

    I’m guessing when you say ‘visual display’ you’re speaking of the visual scenes, or pictures of scenes? As far as those go, I think it’s generally a good idea. We did use some of them, mainly the rooms of the house. Others, like pictures of the mall or a table with food on it, seemed to be the long way around. There wasn’t enough in the scene to talk about. The usual grid of buttons is more efficient.

    We are enjoying it very much.
    Thanks!

    Comment by Carol — June 5, 2007 @ 10:47 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

