Utter Autism

May 13, 2007

Just in time for Mother’s Day….

I found this great post on Adventures in Autism.  It speaks about some of the things that we didn’t know, and the doctors couldn’t tell us, when our children are first diagnosed.

To a certain extent I understand the sense of loss and hopelessness that many people say they’ve experienced upon hearing their child has a disability. But I can’t claim to have really ever felt those things myself. 

Both my husband and I knew that autism was the probable diagnosis whenI walked in to the developmental ped’s office that day.  When he finally uttered the word ‘autism’ I couldn’t help but smile.  Finally we had the diagnosis which allowed us to get services and start doing something to help him.  The doctor gave me a funny look and said, “I don’t think you understand.  This is serious, there is no cure, it’s lifelong…..”  I told him I did understand and that I was just glad to finally have the diagnosis in writing.  Still, I’m pretty sure he thought I was either ignorant or nuts. 

The representative from early intervention had been at the appointment with me and as we walked out she told me she’d never seen anyone take a diagosis so well.  I had to explain that the way I saw it, autism was just part of who my son was and without it, he wouldn’t be the same boy that I knew and loved. 

Eight years later, I still feel that way.  There are plenty of times I wish things (communication, sensory input, etc.) were easier for Adrian, but I don’t ever wish for the autism to just magically leave….. he wouldn’t be Adrian without it.  And, in case you haven’t already guessed, I adore Adrian.  Today I’m extremely thankful I get to be his mom.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

